School Board

The York County School Division is governed by an elected School Board comprised of five members, one from each of the county's five election districts. Elections are held every four years, with the next election taking place in November 2019.

Contact information for each board member is available below. Citizens wishing to contact individual school board members via the postal service should send correspondence to: 302 Dare Road, Yorktown, VA 23692. For information on speaking at board meetings, please visit the Board Meeting webpage.

School Board Member Resignation and Vacancy Announcement

The County School Board of York County, Virginia is now soliciting letters of interest and resumes from persons who wish to be considered to fill a vacancy on the Board for District 2. The appointment will be for an interim period, beginning once the new board member is sworn in and continuing through the November election process.

Community members who are interested in being considered for the interim appointment must be qualified voters and residents of District 2 in York County at the time of appointment. Letters of intent and resumes should include the candidate's mailing address, telephone number(s) and email address (if available). The information will be accepted through 5:00 pm., Wednesday, February 20, 2019, and may be submitted by fax (855-711-2060), email (, by mail, or in person to:

County School Board of York County, Virginia
Attention: Clerk's Office
302 Dare Road
Yorktown, VA 23692

The names of all individuals who submit for consideration will be released on February 21. Comments from citizens regarding the appointment for the District 2 School Board representative will be accepted at the Board's regular monthly meeting on February 25.

For questions or additional information, please call the School Board Office at 757-898-0310.

Barbara S. Haywood

District 1
Elected term expires
January 2020

District 2
Mark A. Medford

District 3
Elected term expires
January 2020
James E. Richardson

District 4
Elected term expires
January 2020
Robert W. George D.D.S.

Vice Chair
District 5
Elected term expires
January 2020

The York County School Division website contains links to other sites that are not owned or controlled by York County School Division. Be advised that we, the York County School Division,
are not responsible or liable for the content, security or information of these sites. These external links are provided for your convenience.